From Cooking Channel Star to Rap Sensation: Roger Mooking Unleashes ‘Soundbites’

Today, the Juno-award-winning Toronto rapper, globally recognized celebrity chef, restaurateur, best-selling author, and star of hit shows like “Man Fire Food,” “Everyday Exotic,” and “Heat Seekers” on Food Network and Cooking Channel, Roger Mooking, is dropping his sixth rap album, titled “SOUNDBITES,” along with a brand-new visual from the project titled “I Can’t Stand.”

Roger Mooking has established himself as a prominent figure in the culinary world, with a far-reaching empire spanning North America, including restaurants, television appearances, and best-selling books. However, his journey as a multi-talented artist began in the realm of groundbreaking rap, where he played a pivotal role in shaping Canada’s contemporary Hip Hop scene. As a solo artist and a founding member of groups like Maximum Definitive and Bass is Base, he left an indelible mark. Born in Trinidad and raised in Canada, Roger Mooking has an impressive discography, comprising five albums and the honor of winning a Juno award, in addition to multiple Juno award nominations.

To celebrate the 50th anniversary of Hip Hop, Roger unveils his latest masterpiece, “SOUNDBITES,” his sixth studio album. This musical creation draws inspiration from the astonishing fact that the average human attention span is a mere 8.25 seconds. “SOUNDBITES” serves as a lyrical opus, featuring evanescent tracks that celebrate the essence of music, community, creativity, chaos, and explore how time influences and defines our world, particularly from the perspective of the Black community. The album is thoughtfully structured into three distinct parts, mirroring the stages of life: the Learning, the Living, and the Leaving. Furthermore, “SOUNDBITES” doubles as the captivating soundtrack to Roger’s upcoming book, “Curious Sounds: A Dialogue in Three Movements,” set for release on Tuesday, October 24th.

Listen to Soundbites:


01 Blank

02 Aquatic Inferno

03 Its My Birthday

04 Im An Adult

05 Francescas Reading Room

06 Pretty Penny

07 Listen To Granny

08 Practice Daily

09 The Other Guy Returns

10 Stuck On Stoopid

11 The City 2.0

12 I Cant Stand It

13 Screwface Capital (feat Mastermind)

14 Played Out

15 Fearless

16 When Words Fail

17 Imagine That

18 Twice A Child (feat francesca ekwuyasi)

19 Black Death (feat Jully Black & francesca ekwuyasi)


Roger Mooking is well known as a celebrity chef and the host of such television shows as the Cooking Channel’s Man Fire Food and Everyday Exotic; he is also a Juno-Award winning recording artist with five albums to his credit and a visual artist who creates immersive experiences that merge the visual, sonic, and culinary arts.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Previous post Sourmouth Drops Video For His New Hit “Bankroll”
Next post Nike Gata Drops New Hit Single “Sneaky Link”